Notifications
Clear all

When did you start?

34 Posts
32 Users
0 Likes
(@davem)
Estimable Member

I started when I was 10 years old. Wow 27 years ago and I still suck. Now I'm depressed. :(

Dave

Sometimes in life you get shown the light,
In the strangest of places if you look at it right.

ReplyQuote
(@morpheus)
Trusted Member

It was one of those things I tried to start several times when I was younger. I just always let other things get in the way. Almost one year ago, just before my 30th, my wife and oldest daughter talked me into getting one. It has since become my addiction. I just wish I could find a way to get some practice in while I am sitting in Chicago traffic everyday.

ReplyQuote
(@rodya-s-thompson)
Estimable Member

I started playing a year ago, the summer before I came to college, because I was insanely jealous of my friends that had been playing since they were like 10 (and are INCREDIBLE). I'm coming along, I don't suck as much as I used to, and even if I never get famous, at least i've got something I love to do (but I need to lay off, and focus on my schoolwork!)

Henry Garza, Saul Hudson, and Darrell Abbott could not be here tonight, but they all had sex and are proud to announce the birth of their two-headed baby, Rodya S. Thompson.

- Paraphrased from the Tenacious D series

ReplyQuote
(@tonedeaf)
Trusted Member

i am somewhat like you, Morpheus (and one of the reasons i am new to these boards)... i played for about a year when i was 9... almost 30 years later, i purchased an alvarez and decided to commit more time to the guitar... glad i did :) and sorry i left for as long as i did :( , now i try to fit it in as best as i can with that constraint we call life :shock:

ReplyQuote
(@steve-0)
Noble Member

I started at 10 and I'm 17 now... I haven't been playing as much as I used to but I'm trying to practice at least two hours a night, which isn't much really for me.

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
(@planetalk)
Reputable Member

44 years ago, in 1961.