Clear all

Wishing I could play like Stevie and Jimi

26 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@uptownskateshop)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

If you can, show me how. Practice is not enough for me, well maybe it is and im just practicing wrong. I've been playing for nearly 3 years now and the first song I've ever tried to learn never finishing it note for note (little Wing, kind of a difficult song for my first song). I can play it well enough that family and friends dont cover their ears, but I do not play it well enough to satisfy me. it's just the little things stevie and Jimi do that I can't grab. For the past 3 years I've been soloing and scaling in the pentitonic scales, normally 5th postion and so on, I add some flats at times turning the pent scale into a major scale. there are some theory things I still have yet to learn regarding the extra notes they add to their keys and why those certain notes work and some don't. Point me in the Right Direction.

(@teleplayer324)
Noble Member

It seems like you are going in the right direction without even being aware of it. You are adding your own touches, your own sense of what the song should be to it.
Why exactly do you want to copy the song note for note exactly as they played it? They've already done it the way, if you want to hear it note for note you can just put the guitar in the corner and listen to the record.
Now this is just my opinion mind you, but I think part of maturing as a musician is to stop slavishly copying someone else and do just what you're doing, putting your own stamp on the music.

Immature? Of course I'm immature Einstein, I'm 50 and in a Rock and ROll band.

New Band site http://www.myspace.com/guidedbymonkeys

ReplyQuote
(@uptownskateshop)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Why exactly do you want to copy the song note for note exactly as they played it? They've already done it the way, if you want to hear it note for note you can just put the guitar in the corner and listen to the record