Clear all

Wrist Pain

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@bacio24)
Topic starter  

Hey Board,

What's up people? I'm having a serious problem with my guitar playing. I have been playing for about 6 years and in the last few months i've been doing a ton of finger exercises. Whenever i pick up the guitar for the first time in the day, or if hours go by without playing, i have to sort of "break my hands in." They're stiff until i push them hard and then all of a sudden they get a lot looser and i can play to my ability. Then I'll pick a hammer on type thing and i'll do it until my left hand is physically burning in the wrist. I'll do the same thing tremolo picking with my right hand sometimes, until i feel it burn really well. I don't know why it takes me so long to warm up and it's so frustrating, and i thought all the burning in my hands was good, just lactic acid buildup, making my hands stronger, but i talked to my old guitar teacher and he said i shouldn't be having that pain. Has anyone had similar problems or any suggestions? I'm trying to be all the guitar player i can be, and this is killing me.

Thank you,
Justin

(@yoyo286)
Noble Member

Hey Justin, welcome to guitarnoise! I dont think its good, but Ive never had that problem, so i dont know.

Stairway to Freebird!

ReplyQuote
(@creem)
Eminent Member

If I'm doing a lot of comping, playing a lot of chunky patterns which take a lot of pressure and left hand muting, my left hand will sometimes cramp up. The only answer I can give you is keep doing it. In my experience, I just have to build up endurance.

Other than that, if you really think it's not improving, maybe you should get a medical checkup; maybe you have bad joints or something.

ReplyQuote
(@smokindog)
Illustrious Member

If you feel burning pain in your wrist STOP playing and rest your hand, this could be a symptom of a more serious problem. try somthing like advil, and maybe ice. if this keeps up go see a doctor.--the dog

My Youtube Page