Skip to content
Wrist pains during ...

Notifications
Clear all

Wrist pains during solo play stretches (low strings, E and A)

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@bloodwolve)
Topic starter  

I have been playing a lot of rhythm over the years and have been getting quite good at it, but lately I started playing more lead. On the higher strings I have no problems keeping my wrist straight in classical position, but on the lower strings I am unable to do so and keep the stretch I need (for example 8-10-12) without bending my wrist.
After some playing this starts to hurt my wrist and no matter how much I try to shift my guitar, hand, shoulder and arm, I cant seem to fix it.

So I thought I would try the most sensible thing and ask people who know a lot more about this as I do myself :3. In included some pictures so hopefully somebody can help me here. Like I said, on the higher strings I have no problem keeping my wrist straight but on the lower strings I cant do it without losing the stretch I need for certain parts. Perhaps it is a thing I have to get used to, perhaps its an easy fix I'm overlooking so any input would be very much appreciated.

(@alangreen)

If it hurts, you're either doing it for too long, or doing it wrong.

Having looked at the photos, I don't see anything particularly wrong with your hand shapes/ positions (except that I would fret the 10th fret with my ring finger, not my middle finger), except in the 4th picture ( ) where it's clear you're wearing your guitar ridiculously low and part of your pain problem is that you're having to reach a heck of a long way round the neck - and then, with the hand already overstretched, you've got work to do.

Shorten your strap and bring the guitar up about six inches. Your rhythm barre chords will thank you for it too.