8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 JonA
(@jona)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello all,

I just picked up an acoustic Windaroo 12 string from a pawn shop for $80. I've never really played a 12 string as a regular thing, and I don't know much about them. It sounds nice, but the action is ridiculously high (or so I think; I don't know what it typically is for 12 strings if it is different from 6 strings).

I'm completely new at guitar maintenance.

So I took some measurements and am here for a lesson. From what I can tell the saddle and nut are both too high; the truss rod seems properly set based on the amount of bend I measured against some numbers I got off the Internet. I see there are ways to lower the saddle by pulling it out and filing off the bottom of it; I was thinking of giving that a try along with some low-tension strings. The saddle doesn't stick up too much the way it is, but I suppose even a small amount can make a difference.

As for the nut, I have no idea what to do. I have seen some advice that involves ripping it out and sanding the bottom off and other advice for just filing out the string slots (which don't actually exist on the nut on this guitar) using a special tool.

And that is about it. I would really appreciate any advice I can get on how to proceed with getting the action on this guitar to a better level.

Thank you for reading this; and thank you for any replies.

Jon

(@steves6)
Trusted Member

Try a 'search' on the back pages of this repair fourm. Lot's of info givin over the years on setting up acoustic guitars.

Best of Luck!

ReplyQuote
 JonA
(@jona)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thank you.

I tried a search, but the form keeps ignoring '12'. I'm still looking around the Internet. I think I need to restring the instrument and take detailed measurements for all the courses and several parts along the fretboard.