Active Vs Passive

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@oldskoolrob)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Howdy groovers.
I have a '73 Hagstrom Swede that I'm thinking of hot-rodding. Going to be used for heavy rock etc. Motorhead for example.

Biggest problem at the moment is Active or Passive pickups? I have no experience with Active PUPS but I know that Hammet, Hetfield, Campbell, Wylde and other Metal heavy-hitters use them. Anythign I should know before I go ahead and buy some?? I've heard that they aren't as versatile as passive??

(@niklas)
Reputable Member

I have active EMG:s and they work great for me. The biggest advantage is that they're quiet so it's very suitable for heavy rock/metal. And in quiet I mean very little excessive noise like humming when the gain is turned up.

But I would think twice about installing them in your guitar. It means you have to drill in it and make place for a 9-volt battery, and it being a vintage guitar I guess it would ruin the value of it. I would install some good quality passive pickups instead. I think they would suit the guitar better anyway.

This is just my opinion, I'll leave the expertise to someone else.

"Talent is luck. The important thing in life is courage."

ReplyQuote
(@kpheard)

I agree. It would be a shame to damage or de-value your guitar. Of course, the other pain with active pick ups is the risk of the battery failing or running low. I bet after a few gigs you will be annoyed at having to keep buying new batteries. I know I would. I would opt for some decent quality passive pick ups instead.

Learn to play guitar http://kheard.com/guitar

ReplyQuote
(@niklas)
Reputable Member

The battery issue is actually never a problem. As long you remember to always unplug the guitarcord you won't drain the battery. I bought my guitar three years ago i think and changed the battery one time. And it was only as a safety concern. I wanted a new battery for a gig.