Notifications
Clear all

Can I shave down the TOP of the bridge?

19 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@kapusta)
Topic starter  

I have an old acoustic guitar (1973 Guild D-40) that I've been playing since 1990. Last year I had the neck re-set because the action was getting really high. The bridge and saddle had been taken down as much as they could over the years to lower the action, so I had them replaced to get the string/saddle up to a normal height. When I got it back I noticed that the bridge piece (the wooden part) was much thicker than the old one and the saddle does not stick up very high out of it. Nonetheless the string action/height was quite good.

However, over the past year the action has gotten a little higher again, due to the neck moving a little The problem I am having is that there is very little saddle showing above the bridge, so I cannot shave anything off the bottom of the saddle.

It seems to me that they should have put a thinner bridge with more saddle showing in order to give me some room for adjustment down the road, but I can't really do anything about that now.

Anyway, I am wondering if I can shave the top of the bridge down to expose more of the saddle, thus allowing me to lower the saddle more? I am assuming I can since it was done on the last bridge as a fix for high action before the neck re-set, but when I suggested this to a guitar repair guy, he thought I was crazy. I assume there is a minimum insertion depth required for the saddle in the slot in the bridge? If I am getting below that, is it a big deal to make the saddle slot deeper?

I am a pretty competent woodworker, so I am comfortable with the idea of doing the filing, I'm not sure how to go about deepening the slot (I envision a pretty involved jig and a router and I'm not too keen on doing that to the guitar myself) but I want to know if this is something that is ever actually done. I don't know what else to do to be able to lower the saddle.

Thanks for any input.