Clear all

? for experienced solderers (?) etc...

20 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@kerbdog)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I simply want to be able to change my own pickups yet I know nothing about soldering...etc..

I've read in mags, on the internet etc....and they all conflict each other.

I want a list of what I need to buy just to unsolder then solder pickups into a guitar. That's it. (a guide to understanding the wiring would be nice too).

Point me to the "right" website or help?! heh Sucks having to pay so much $$$ to get someone else to do this.

-Ash

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what I think anyway.
You'll need a good soldering iron, in the 30W-40W bracket. Any less and you'll spend too long heating the solder. This can easily cause damage to the components that you're trying to solder. Too powerful and you risk the same problem, just caused by taking an oxy-acetylene torch to light a cigarette, so to speak.
For very light work, you'll want a pencil tip. For general work, you'll want either a screwdriver or chisel tip.
I'm currently in the market for a new one, myself. The type that I've found, from experience, don't transfer heat well are those with a small screw on the side of the barrel, to hold the tip in place. The tip is usually a loose fit and does not have very good heat transfer, as only a small part of the tip's surface is in contact with the heating element.
You'll need a good quality flux and good quality solder.
It helps if you also get a solder remover - either the wick type or a suction "gun".
Get a decent stand, for the iron, if it doesn't come with one, and make sure that you have a small sponge to clean tip of the iron occasionally.
You'll also need some abrasive, such as a file or sandpaper, to clean and rough the surface of items to be soldered.

How to solder is not very difficult, if you follow some rules: