Clear all

gauge question

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@jeremyd)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

well i was tuneing my guitar and a string kinda snapped im still new to this so i guess trial and error he i come but i should replace all the strings being as though this is a used guitar and i was wondering how do i know what gauge to go with being as though i dont know what it came with...

Jerm

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

You have a couple of options. You can take the guitar to the local (guitar) shop and ask them to give you the same that's already on - they should measure them. The other option is to go with what the guitar was originally sold with. If it's a Strat-type, you'll need 9-42s, if it's an LP-type you'll probably need 10-46s. What type of guitar is it?
It may be worth while having the shop do a set-up - check with them what it would cost. A set-up is like taking your car in for a tune-up.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@jeremyd)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

its a dean avalanche i think

ReplyQuote
(@jeremyd)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

ive only had it for a week and it was used so no tellin how old the strings on it were

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Looking at the Dean site, I'd think that it would come with 9-42s on it.

Greybeard's Pages

ReplyQuote
(@jeremyd)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

thats what ill try then any specific brand?

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

It's always worth paying a bit extra for a known name, such as Ernie Ball, GHS Boomers or D'Addario.

Greybeard's Pages

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

thats what ill try then any specific brand?

As far as strings.. I use size 10s on all my electrics.. Its easier for me when I buy strings by the 10 pack :)