Notifications
Clear all

guitar cleaning / tune up

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@guitaroman)
Topic starter  

Hey everybody. I'm new to guitarnoise and fairly new to the guitar. I used to play a lot then I let up, but I'm back at it now. I'm sure there has already been a board like this, so just point me in the right direction..

What is a good cleaner for the body of the guitar, the fretboard, and even the pickups.

And another thing.. this is more of a problem. I couldn't find a "repair" section to post this in, but maybe I'm just blind.

Whenever I hit any note higher than the 12th fret (13th fret and up) on my B and high E strings, the sound is dead. I think it may be because the strings are too tight; but I've changed them many times and always come out with this same problem. I play an ESP EC-50 with the tune-o-matic style bridge and stopbar tailpiece.

Thank you all for your help, and sorry to the administrators if I posted this in the wrong spot. Don't kill me. :)
-- The Guitaroman

"I guess you can call me the old noob."

(@trguitar)
Famed Member

There is this section here .... https://www.guitarnoise.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=3

Could be string action / neck adjustment issues. A good setup might fix things.

I just use good furniture polish to clean my guitars but they do sell comercially made stuff just for guitars in music stores. (It's expensive) I use lemon oil on my fingerboards. (It's really lemon scented mineral oil) It's made for wood. A fellow here called Ricochet uses olive oil and I have tried it. It works well. Again, there are special products available at music stores.

Oh yeah ...... welcome to Guitar Noise! :D

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member