Clear all

Guitar suddenly stopped working

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@steven2992)
Topic starter  

Hi,

I was playing my Squier Strat through a tube amp last week. Everything was working fine until I unplugged the cable, plugged it into another instrument and then plugged it back in. No sound was produced by the guitar. However, I noticed that the slight hum of the pickups is still heard (and disappears when you turn the volume knob to 0). I also tried plugging a different guitar with the same cable and amp and it works fine.

I opened up the pick guard of the strat and all the connections looked fine. There weren't any signs of anything being burnt. I also tried testing the resistance of the pickups and of the volume and tone pots and they seemed to be working fine (I'm no electronics professional but I followed some YouTube videos).

Has this happened to anyone before? Would anyone have an suggestions as to what the problem might be? Any troubleshooting?

SM

Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

By chance could it have Active pickups which utilize a 9V battery? If so, sounds like the battery died. If not, you may need to check the jacket for a twisted or loose connection.

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

ReplyQuote
(@jeff-leites)