Clear all

Help! strat, new strings, fret buzzing

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@presbystrat)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I just put new strings (same gauge, different brand) on my squire standard strat and noticed a lot of buzzing on the fret particulary with the first three strings. I had it setup professionally when I put the last set of strings on and everything seemed pretty good. I raised the strings at the bridge to correct for the buzzing but I had to raise them so high that the action on the strings is way to high now. I checked the neck by putting a staight edge on top of the frets and it seemed to be pretty much flat. I tightened the truss rod a little to make it more concave but then I had to raise the strings even more to eleviate the buzz. Could this be a problem with the nut perhaps? I have good mechanical inclination but I am still pretty new to the guitar and don't want to do any damage. Thank you for your help.

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

Probably not. The action at the nut only affects open strings. Fretted notes will be just the same, except for the fact that they will go sharp if the action at the nut is too high. It sounds like your neck is too straight, and the truss rod needs to be loosened a tiny bit. After that, you'll need to set the action again.

ReplyQuote
(@slothrob)
Reputable Member

I assume you meant loosen the truss rod to make the the neck more concave.
You should check and set the relief of the neck first (about the thickness of a high E string or a playing card, maybe the thickness of a dime if you are an aggressive strummer), then go back and set the string height.
You should be able to localize the buzzing by holding the neck up to your ear as you play.
Is it only on open strings? Can you make it go away by fretting certain frets and not others? Is it only above th 8th or 9th fret? Or only below the 7th? Is it actually a fret or is it a buzzing at the bridge or nut?

ReplyQuote
(@presbystrat)
Eminent Member
Topic starter