Clear all

Loud hum/buzz, no sound from guitar

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@amuro_ray32)
Topic starter  

Hello, everyone,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to guitar, and this website incidentally, but I decided to learn and pick myself up an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus, and a Peavey Vypyr 15-watt amp. I originally went to the store to pick up a simple Marshall 10-watt, but let the clerk talk me into the Peavey with all its built-in effects for 20 dollars more, and kind of regret it.

Anyway, I wanted to plug my guitar into the amp and give it a strum for the first time ever, just to hear it and feel it...But upon turning the power on the amp and raising the volume a little, I was unpleasantly surprised by a very loud buzzing or humming. I was quick to blame the amp for this and got ready to take it back, but I decided to mess around a bit first..

If the instrument is not jacked into the amp, the horrible buzz isn't present. On top of that, when the guitar IS plugged in, and I pluck a string or two, I can't hear it-- this leads me to believe the problem may be with the guitar, which I bought online, so the process is a little more difficult than just taking it back to where I got it and exchanging..

Just to get it out of the way:
-Yes, the guitar's knobs are turned up
-No, I do not have active pickups-- there's no plate on the back to take off and insert a battery
-And finally, strangely enough, when I plug into a tuner, it seems to be able to pick up the signal..

What could that awful sound be? In turn, why am I not able to make awful sounds with the guitar itself? :lol: It sucks to have technical problems right off the bat, you know? I was excited to get ready to start learning the instrument; not learning to fix it-- though, I suppose it'll be good knowledge to have when it's out of the way.

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Are you using the tuner that is built in to the amp, or an external one?
If you are using an external tuner, did you use the same cable?