Clear all

Really weird static/crackle/interference

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@bass-cadet)
Topic starter  

Hi all, Newbie here :D

I've trawled through the forums but havn't been able to find an answer to my problem so thought I'd create a thread....

I bought a new amp 2 weeks ago, Marshall AVT275, 2nd hand, excellent condition. My Les Paul sounds top notch through it. I had no problems until last night, I switched channel to Overdrive 2 and as soon as I took my hands off the guitar, a really annoying crackle/static sound started. It seems to go away completly when I touch any metal part of the guitar. Its not unbareable but I think we all know how a little niggle like this can wreck our heads!

So I tried my other guitar, and the same thing. Buzzing when the guitar is idle, static/crackle sound disappears when contact made with any metal on guitar body (including strings). So I reckon its got to be the amp. The AVT275 has a tube Preamp, I checked this and everything ok, THEN I hook up both guitars to my old Peavey Bandit and...yep, same problem; static sound when idle, gone when contact made. I've tried changing power source and a different mains in the house, but the same result.

At one stage I changed cord and it seemed to work for a while, but it graually came back. I'm absolutely stumped here!! The only thing I can presume is some kind of electrical grid interference? even atmospheric interference? I don't know. Has anyone out there ever experienced a problem like this? Any solution or did you slowly go insane like I am?! :twisted: :? :)

Boa
(@boa)

There is a bad ground some where. Try moving to a different outlet first. I have the same problem with one outlet in my house, moved and it cured the problem. If not in the house could be a bad solder joint in the amp. After it heats up it loses conductivity.

ReplyQuote
(@oenyaw)
Reputable Member