Notifications
Clear all

Strat copy pickup replacement

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@abrotherseamus)
Topic starter  

I will preface all of this by saying I am a total noob at electronics. If I've done something blatantly stupid I apologize.

So, about 6 years ago I got it into my head to replace the humbucker on my pacifica. When I opened the guitar, a much dumber and younger me, had no idea what he was doing. So after dicking around for a while, I came to the conclusion I was in over my head and closed it up, and there it sat.

Recently I decided to try again. I did the research, talked to a friend that is pretty well-versed on the topic and got the right tools. I followed a generated pickup diagram from seymour-duncan for a H/S/S setup with one tone and one volume. I bought new pots, a new switch, and kept the original single coils, thinking it's a work in progress, if all goes well I can replace them at a later date. Groovy right?

Well not so much. The problem I'm experiencing now is that my guitar buzzes like a mofo when plugged in. I only have a small sampling amp (G-dec 30), and it is much more noticeable on settings with any sort of effects. Touching the pot stems, or the strings, or the bridge, basically any metal will cancel out this problem. I know that there is some buzz to be experienced when using single coils, but this is pretty excessive and is present in almost equal measure across any combination of the 3 pickups on a 5 way switch.

Things I've done to try and remedy this:
1. Continuity tests pretty much anywhere I can think of. From the switch to the pots, any of the bullshit splicing I did, to the bridge ground to the input jack. Ad nauseum, over and over again. I cannot find evidence of a cold joint.