Yet another nut question - now with Pic

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@chris-c)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I bought a fairly cheap Chinese made Johnson guitar acouple of weeks ago. When I got it home, I found that the nut stuck out from the neck a little on the bass E string side. The result was that the string sat almost over the tapered end of the fret wire at the first fret. :? Unfortunately, this meant it slid off sideways pretty easily when played at that fret.

The distributor offered to pay to have it fixed by a respected local repairer, but I decide to do it myself.

The nut was held in position quite snugly, partly by the end of the truss rod access plate. I slackened that off, and was able to free the nut with a couple of modest taps.

Being a fairly experienced woodworker I use any glue with great care on a joint that may one day need to be taken apart again. So I decide to try no glue at all. :o

So far (a month or so) it seems fine. It hasn't moved, it's still held quite snugly even with no strings on, and of course the strings hold it down tightly too. There should be some roughness still there from the original glue spot where it separated, so I'm not anticapting any sideways movement.

Two questions please:

a) Does no glue sound OK under those conditions, and

b) How much would you think was a minimum distance, on both side of the neck, between the side of the strings (high and low E) and the top of the taper at the end of the first fret??

It's now balanced out between the two sides, but the margin is still a lot smaller than on other guitars I've looked at. Probably a millimetre or less each side.

As a fat-fingered beginner I like the extra width between the strings, but I'm slightly concerned that I may prematurely round off the ends of fret 1.

What do you reckon? Learn to push slightly inwards not outwards as I play, or fit a narrower nut?

Thanks for any opinions. :)

(@forrok_star)
Noble Member