Cover: Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@one_four_five)
Topic starter

Hi all,

Since this is my first post, i'll introduce myself first:

I'm a 21 year old student from Holland who decided to pick up an acoustic guitar about a year ago and wow...did i fall in love! I play at leat a couple of hours per day and often more (being a student rocks! :D). Since a few months i'm taking lessons too, so i'm progressing pretty well.

I recently decided i want to learn to sing aswell (if you would have told me this 2 years ago i would have laughed really hard!). Problem is that i'm not a natural singer, but my guitar teacher is also a vocal teacher, so i hope with a lot of practice i'll be able to produce something that is at least bearable to listen to.

About my cover of Wish you were here: I learned David's version and i love to play it, because it's such a beatiful song. I tuned my guitar a half step down because the vocals are pretty high for me. Even a half step down is still a bit too high (a few parts are definitely out of tune...i just hope the rest isn't....), but a full step down doesn't sound well on my guitar and detunes by only looking at it. In the interlude i improvised a solo in the G major pentatonic scale. Everything is recorded with a crappy computer mic so the quality isn't great. The only effect that i added is some reverb to the vocals.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=469644

Please be critical, i know some parts are really out of tune and the timing isn't great either, but i love to have some advice on how to do it better!

Posted : 16/01/2006 2:36 pm
(@one_four_five)
Topic starter

Woow...i just listened to it again and the vocals are really out of tune most of the time! :oops:

I think that recording this song almost the entire afternoon made my ears (comfortably ;) ) numb or something...and i just wanted some feedback so i posted it here without listening to is properly...