Clear all

cheapo recording

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I've been looking into building a very modest, bare bones home studio. I was messing around with Cool Edit Pro and my supercool, $5 wally world PC mike and recorded the following:

go here, then click your speed: http://silvercarvin.dmusic.com/

Now, I used CEP to add a little bit of delay and echo, panned slightly to the right. This is the mp3 version, so its a bit lesser quality than the original wave. To me, this doesn't sound bad (bear in mind I have no recording experience at all). Sure it isn't major label CD quality, but its not bad. I've been looking ( and am not even sure what I need yet) at USB interfaces and better software and an additional mike and I want to know if it will make a big difference in the end to what I have recorded here. I can't achieve pro sound-quality for cheap, I know, but spending money even make a difference when recording amatuer sound?

"Contrary to popular belief, Clapton is NOT God. The prospect that he is God probably had a large hand in driving him to drugs and booze. Thanks everyone."

-Guitar World :lol:

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Well done, Matt. Nice, clean and steady playing, plus a good recorded sound, esp for money. The stereo echos fill out the spatial dimension really well.

Even though I have a small digital multi-track, I've settled on CEP 2.0 and my laptop for virtually all my recording. It's a great tool.

Again, nice job -- Greg

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@slothrob)
Reputable Member

Real sweet. Great sound for a Mr. Microphone. The pans sound great through the headphones, reminds me of the 60's.

ReplyQuote
(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the kind words :)

Yeah, I'd like to get a good soundcard, but thats all I need I think. CEP is quite a good program. The one I have just won't support direct guitar signals, I'd like to get some quality demos down.