Amp question-Orange Crush 15R

23 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@sticky)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,
Since I'm about to take delivery on my first electric guitar(the GN '51 wave of 2006) I'll be needing an amp. I'm a total newb and need an opinion on an Orange Crush 15R(reverb). I know that they're known for their tube amps and this is solid state but how is it? I'm not going to have much to go on as far as experience is concerned since I have none, I figure for about $100.00 it's a fairly good buy but are there other amps that are a better bang for the buck?

Thanks in advance, I really like this forum; loads of info from experienced people.

Nick

*wouldn't this be a pretty good starter set up? Squire '51 w/a 15R Crush

How do you know if a drummer is knocking on your door.....

The knocking speeds up.

(@duffmaster)
Noble Member

I would get the Epiphone Valve Junior instead. All tube, and just as loud.

Who needs a signature?
I mean really...
It's almost always lyrics...
or a cliche...
or garbage about me...
Lets just save YOU from the pain, ok?

ReplyQuote
(@ginger)
Reputable Member

Duffmaster makes a good point. I would just suggest to go to the store and play a little through each one and let your ears decide. If your looking for a certain type of sound, then you can't go wrong with letting your ears.

ReplyQuote
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

I would get the Epiphone Valve Junior instead. All tube, and just as loud.

I 2nd the Epi Valve JR. 8)

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Valve-Junior-Combo-Amp?sku=480260

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member