Clear all

Dumb pot question for a simple mod

13 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@noobie)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I just want some clarification on whether or not my logic works here. My very first guitar has a "mod" that is useless to me. It's a toggle switch that open circuits the signal from the pickup so that you get no signal when it is in off mode.

I figured since I have a switch there, I might as well make it useful for a little extra punch on solos. I normally play around the 6/7 range on my guitar, but when I go to solo I have a hard time moving the volume knob to 10 to make it louder and get necessary sustain then moving it back down to the right level. So I figured I could use it as a switch to bypass the pot and give a straight signal aka "10" to my output. Is my thinking correctly here in that a "10" is the signal straight from the pickup?

Here is a simple schematic if you want to see it. The input signal is the "hot/juice" lead from the pickup

Thanks.

plz im a noob

(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

I see the thinking and I think it would work, but maybe that middle pin of the pot being connected might make a difference. (I've learned never to count on my reasoning when it comes to logic in electronics :))

If it does though, you only need to use a double throw switch instead of a single throw and have it select either 'middle pin' or 'direct from pickup', ie:

From pickup ------
|
|
-----/////------ Ground
| |
| switch |
--o o---|

o
|

To jack

...instead of...

From pickup ------
|
|
-----/////------ Ground
| |
| / |
--o o----|
switch |
|
|
To jack

If it was me, I'd just try it during the mod and see which works best for me. It's not a project too big to experiment with :)

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member

As C&S infers, this won't work as expected if the pot is set near '0'. The double-throw switch is the better solution.

ReplyQuote
(@noobie)
Estimable Member
Topic starter