Clear all

Feedback problem with my Mesa

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 Davo
(@davo)
Topic starter  

First off, I'm new at this and can't find any help anywhere.

I just bought a Mesa Dual Rect. 3 channel head. I want to use the 2nd and 3rd channels for my distortion/overdrive(whatever) but can't seem to get a good sound without it feeding back like crazy. I have some external pedals, and would like to use them to help. They are:

Boss Compression/Sustainer
Boss EQ
Boss Noise Suppressor
Boss Chorus Ensemble
Boss DD-6 (Delay)
Boss Tuner

I had an old amp that I used all of these with in addition to boss distortion pedals, but I could never get the right amount of gain to make it sound heavy enough and be able to do things like pinch harmonics with the pedals. That's the main reason why I bought the Mesa is because I know it can be done, but as soon as I turn the master volume control up enough to hear it over the rest of the band, it starts freaking out. Any help?

Davo

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

With your old amp, which I'm guessing had way less gain, you had things adjusted just right. With this new high gain amp, you have to sorta start from scratch as far as knob adjustments and whatnot, particularly if you're going to be playing at stage volumes or with a drummer.

Think of Gain as the Mic Sensitivity control on a mixing board. It makes the mic 'hear' more. Same with gain. Turn it up and it makes the guitar pickups more sensitive - even to feeback - so in this case, turn your gain settings way down, while bringing the overall volume of the amp up to match the rest of the band.

Amp and effects settings always have to change between bedroom practice volumes and actual rehearsal or stage volumes.

ReplyQuote
 Davo
(@davo)
Topic starter