Ghost Acoustic Pickups (For Electric Guitar) aka FAAS

10 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@fireman-sam)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi All,

I'm a newbie, and have been playing an Onyx (imitation Ovation straight acoustic on loan from my really nice boss!) for a couple of months now, and having a great time! :D Last Friday I played my first electric guitar at a friends place. It was a Fender Squier with reverse headstock, and he'd customised the body a little. Running it through a Behringer V-Amp, it sounded great to have all those different amps and effects.

However, now comes the difficult choice of what to buy for my first guitar...now I know that you guys must be sick of people asking what they should look out for, and I have done my own research in this matter, but I have a question regarding these Ghost Acoustic pickups.

You see - the master of things financial - The Wife :wink: - has a preference to Acoustic sounds, and I kinda like the versatility of the electric, and as my mate suggested on Friday, get both! But, I've got to get one, then obviously save for the other. But my mate said that you could get a bridge that sounds like an acoustic from an electric guitar !

So I did some research and Graph Tech http://www.graphtech.com have a product called the Ghost which does this. I would like to ask...

1. Is this a hard piece of equipment to install... I know my way around a soldering iron, but would like to hear of any other testimonies...
2. Has anyone else used them ? Whats the sound 'really' like ?
3. In Australia - Any other cheaper retailers... Billy Hydes has them priced at AUD $359 incl GST.

Thanks - and appreciate any feedback !!

(@97reb)
Noble Member