Notifications
Clear all

Guitar setup questions

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@guitarman4545)
Topic starter  

Ive been playing guitar for 5 years, I play heavy metal, and I have a few questions about my setup. To start, just know that i am VERY guitar-technically impaired, I dont understand much about this stuff, so bear with me, please.

B.C. Rich Bich Archtop
Boss ME-20 Multi-effects pedal
Crate XT120R 120W Guitar Combo
Behringer Ultrastack BG412S 4x12 Stereo Cab with Jensen Speakers (400W handling @ 8 ohms)

First, I was wondering if my crate combo - behringer cab combination is harmful to my amps or speakers? I dont understand anything about watts or ohms or anything. Also Im considering increasing my stack size, either to combo - cab - cab or head - cab - cab and was wondering if it would be pointless to get another cab if my combo cant power that many cabs, or whatever. help.

Second, I bought my ME-20 Pedal about a week ago, and ever since ive been getting really bad feedback with it through my stack when its loud. (Have to play over drums and bass somehow heh) I dont think its normal feedback, it wasnt nearly as bad with my previous multi-effects distortion pedal. Ive tried walking as far as possible from the stack, into other rooms, etc. and it doesnt help. Which is why i dont think its a speaker - pickup feedback issue, rather something wrong with my cords or pedal or stack or guitar? lol. This is a huge huge problem as my band can barely practice with this feedback. Help!

I was thinking maybe a noise gate or compressor to help this problem? Dont understand what those do obviously lol, but was wondering if it could possibly work?