Skip to content
Hmmm...Roland 15W C...

Notifications
Clear all

Hmmm...Roland 15W Cube or Blues Jr or Orange?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

I got a potential deal on the Blues Jr...about $250 with an upgraded speaker. I already have the cube, and I'm somewhat happy with it, but it buzzes if there's too much treble, and hums if there's too much bass. I'm still a beginner...but it's hard to resist the blues jr for that little amount of money. And at the same time, I could buy a new Orange amp 30W solid state for $200. But it might be worth spending the extra $50 to get the Blues Junior, since it's a fantastic tube amp and all. Plus Blues Jrs are updated new, and this one I'm looking at even has the upgraded speaker. And obviously sell off my 15W cube, if I got either of these two amps.

But at the same time, I could save some money, but the orange 30W/blues jr is just so appealing to me. Seems like a great practice amp, and something I could potentially gig with sometime down the road. In a nutshell, my main concern is that I'll upgrade to an orange amp or fender blues jr, but it won't really be thaaaaat much of an upgrade.

Please let me know if you really think it's worth shelling out that much money for a better amp at this stage in the game. Thanks.

-Kev

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I would get the blues Jr, certainly at that price. I think, in a year's time, you'd regret passing it up, if you bought one of the others.

By the way, a 15W tube will give you every bit as much volume as a 30W SS amp.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@darth-ordinary)
Reputable Member

+1 - In those circumstances I'd go for the BJ all the way

Gordon Smith GS1.5-40 Marshall VS65R

ReplyQuote
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member