Notifications
Clear all

Hughes and Kettner 25th Anniversary Tube Amp

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@hilariousguys)
Topic starter  

Hi all, I'm not exactly new to guitar--been playing for 4 years--but I am new to the amplifier world and that is why I've come here.

For my first two years of guitar playing, I was using an acoustic guitar, for the latest two years it's been a mix between acoustic and electric. Up until this point, I've been playing my electric guitar with an amp that was included as a package. It's just a small practice thing--I'm not even sure if it's 5 watt--and, not surprisingly, sounds really bad. I've decided that it's time for an upgrade and went on the search on my local classifieds for a new amp.

I seen the Hughes and Kettner 25th anniversary tube amp for sale for $275. I did a bit of research and the amp looks very nice. I contacted the seller and he is willing to let it go for $225. A STEAL for this amp as per my research. I've come here to get opinions on this particular amp and Hughes and Kettner in general.

If anyone has this amp, how's the reliability? The sound? After I purchase--if I do--what would be some recommended tubes to replace the standard ones, if I should replace them at all?

Thanks! :note2: :note1:

(@ezraplaysezra)
Honorable Member

H&K a good company, well respected. I'm not as hip to their line up as some other builders but ever yone I have played has seemed to be well made and that is really the heart of the amp battle. $225 is a steal for an all tube 20w combo dude. Buy it and don't look back even if it needs some minor service. It is a steal. Replace the tubes if they need replacing only, but you might can't to trade out the speaker for something better after a while, or not. But having the lower end celestion rocket 50 replaced with a vintage 30 or something would probably do more for the sound than the stock tubes changed out.