Skip to content
Multi-effects in fr...

Notifications
Clear all

Multi-effects in front of amp or into effects loop?

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@jcarndt)
Topic starter  

I just got a Korg toneworks ax1500g, and I'm trying to decide if this thing is supposed to go in front of my amp , or into the effects loop. Anybody out there using this box, or a similar unit? Also, I'm wondering about the cabinet simulation, should this be on or off when running into the amp? I'm playing a Carvin Bolt and a Telecaster through a Tech 21 trademark 60. I've never used effects before so this is new territory.

(@pickswipe)

Hey dude, one thing I can say is that-it depends. When you're running an a multi effects pedal it's always gonna have the processed sound no matter what you do, but that comes with the territory. My advice however is that you run the pedal directly into the amp, which makes life a lot simpler, and not through the effects loop. I have seen a few people running maybe one or two fancy effects through the dedicated loop, but it makes life more complicated and that defeats the whole object of a multi effects pedal doesn't it? 8)

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

You can do it either way.

I am not familiar with your amp, but on mine when you run through the effects loop it by-passes the volume and tone controls. So I prefer to run effects straight into the normal guitar input. Then I can adjust the volume or tone of my amp just in case a patch is not quite to my liking. But this is just a personal preference. Others may feel that this colors the sound of your presets. I would just try it both ways.

As far as the cabinet simulations, I would say just try them and see what you think. I would probably set your treble, bass, and middle tone controls at 12 o'clock on the amp and turn off any reverb, presence, or bright controls.