Clear all

Another aspiring guitarist.

17 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@simplysimplified)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

What will you do with all of us new beginners?

Anyway, I'm new to both Guitarnoise AND the guitar.

I'm hoping to learn to play guitar, and I think I'll get through reading the music pretty fast. I've already taked 2 years of piano but I've been around music all my life. I started reading music long before I took actuall lessons.

I'm interested in more classic rock, if you will. Possibly my favorite band would be Styx. :]

I just saw them in concert too~
but I digress.

SO, there are so many resources here, where on earth do I start?

Katelyn

Posted : 24/09/2006 5:43 pm
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the musical madhouse. There's plenty to help you on GN, you just have to find something that you feel comfortable with.
Go to Beginner's section and have a look at "Horse With No Name" (if it gets much older it'll be "Horse with no teeth") - a song with only 2 chords. Have a look at some of the other songs, as well, they may be more your style.

Whatever you do, don't get in a panic about not having learnt a whole song by the end of your first week. Take all the time you need, there's no rush (unless you're 98 and have a heart condition, that is :lol: ).

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

Posted : 24/09/2006 6:05 pm
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

Welcome!

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

Posted : 24/09/2006 6:13 pm
(@simplysimplified)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Grey: Thanks, I've taken a look at it, and it's going pretty good.
(And I can proudly proclaim that no, I'm not 98. In fact, I'm not even 20 :lol: )

And thanks for the welcome guys :D

Katelyn

Posted : 24/09/2006 6:17 pm
(@chuckster)
Prominent Member

Welcome to GN. Look forward to seeing you around the forums.

8)