Hello from CT

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@chrisc)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hello everyone,

I'm a 35-year-old beginning guitarist hailing from a suburb outside Hartford, CT, USA. I started getting into music in my late 20's, and I played piano and taiko for a little bit before buying my first guitar, a Yamaha FG700S acoustic. Believe it or not, I almost bought a djembe instead of a guitar -- it was a toss-up between the two, until I went to a superbowl party and picked up one of the host's acoustic guitars. I sat down on his stairs and noodled with it (with what little I knew), and before I knew it six women were hanging out with me. I don't think that would've happened with a hand drum :) True story, but seriously, though, I'd love to learn to play and sing well enough to entertain both me and others.

Well, that's my introduction. I want to say a big HELLO to everyone out there, and I also want to say that this website is amazing and I've learned a lot from it so far. Thank you to all that contribute to it, and I hope to someday give a little back!

Posted : 02/10/2008 11:50 pm
(@kaspen)
Trusted Member

Hi and welcome.

Posted : 03/10/2008 3:58 am
 Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

JUST what we need...a Connecticutt Yankee named CHRIS! :lol:

Welcome. Matey!

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

Posted : 03/10/2008 7:23 am
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

I sat down on his stairs and noodled with it (with what little I knew), and before I knew it six women were hanging out with me.
Ahhh so
It's the guitar that attracts them . . . you mean I don't have to bother to learn to play the thing?
Oh well, I've been at it a year now, I might as well plod along.

Welcome to GN and that was a nice introduction. Glad to meet you.

KR2 (so it's the guitar that is the babe magnet . . . hmm . . . I wondered why my charm wasn' . . .)

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

Posted : 03/10/2008 11:48 am
(@danlasley)