Notifications
Clear all

Hello From Tennessee

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@pastor_bob)
Topic starter

Hi everyone. I have been referred to this site by a drummer friend who is also on this site. I play both drums and guitar.

I am a pastor who has been playing guitar for the past 11 years. A friend suggested that learning to play an acoustic would be good for working with youth. I found out that I could play a lot of praise music by learning just 3 chords - G, C, and D. That was fine when I was a newbie, but then about 3 years ago, I realized that continuing to play on such a rudimentary level just wasn't enough. I have branched out into the electric realm, and as my chord knowledge has expanded I have learned to play a nice variety of songs in the Classic Rock, and Worship genres (I am self-taught on the guitar). I had thought of myself as mainly a rhythm player, but I am starting to get the bug for learning lead.

My guitar gear has expanded as well (yep, I got GAS :wink:). I have a few guitars - a couple of Strats, an LP, an Ibanez 6 and 12 string, and a Telecaster, as well as a Crate acoustic amp, a couple of solid state amps, and a couple of tube amps. A lot of this happened as I searched for "my" tone.

I am looking forward to being here and learning the best ways to go from where I am, to where I want to go.

Posted : 09/03/2011 3:25 am
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

Hey, PB.

Glad you signed up!

Enjoy the forums!

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

Posted : 09/03/2011 1:33 pm
(@pastor_bob)
Topic starter

Thanks Bish, and thanks for recommending this forum. It looks like it will be very comfortable around here.

Posted : 09/03/2011 2:26 pm
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

Welcome to GN.
Tennessee! . . . one of my favorite states . . . have a rental in Gatlinburg.

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

Posted : 09/03/2011 8:34 pm
(@pastor_bob)
Topic starter