Clear all

hi! Help needed please!

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 liv
(@liv)
Topic starter

Hey! My names Olivia and I live in Melbourne, Australia (greatest city in the world? Yes). I just turned 18 and I started playing (and I use the term 'playing' very loosely, it's more like destroying music for everyone in my house :oops: ) for about a month or two ago. Just teaching myself off the internet, saving to travel not for a teacher. My guitar is...actually I have no idea, I think it's a Yamaha, but it's at least 20 years old, just found it lying around the house. I can do a few songs so far - American Pie, Angel from Montgomery, and then just a few lines of others. I'm doing my last year of high school now, so I don't have that much time to dedicate to practice, though the time I do practice I really should be doing homework. ANYWAY. I have a few question, hopefully someone can help me!

1. What the hell are pull ons and flick offs? :?

2. What is 'alternative picking'? Like finger picking? Different? And similarly, how does finger picking work? Is it like strumming without a pick, or picking the strings differently? :?:

3. How does the tabs on the internet work? Like, what exactly does this mean?

|--3--|--2--|--3--|--3--|-----|--3--|--3--|
|--3--|--3--|--3--|--3--|--3--|--3--|--3--|
|--0--|--2--|--0--|-----|--2--|-----|--0--|
|--0--|--0--|--2--|-----|--2--|-----|--2--|
|--2--|-----|--3--|-----|--0--|--2--|--2--|
|--3--|-----|-----|--2--|-----|-----|--0--|

and this

G/F#/E
E A
E A
E A
G C
D C
C E
C G
D A/B/G

Does A/B/G mean play those three in quick succession or is it it's own chord, or something else completely?

Thanks, for any help you can give, assuming anyone can be bothered to finish this essay :P

Posted : 24/05/2009 11:28 am
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Hi Olivia, and welcome to GN! 8)

I'll try to answer your questions the best I can.