Notifications
Clear all

Newbe girl - beginner

20 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@girl_loves_vintage)
Topic starter

I'm a very beginner player. I have been teaching myself to play for about 3 months now and am completely addicted! Also, I quickly developed a love for vintage acoustic guitars and I now have a collection of 2. My first purchase was a 1979 Guild D25M - dark mahogany-sounds amazing-looks amazing. I started learning on the Guild, but soon realized that it didn't fit my body too well (I'm 5' 7"-but cursed with large breasts) and the big dreadnought was too cumbersome for learning. Recently I was fortunate enough to purchase a 1956 Martin 0-18 in excellent condition -all original, no neck reset. This guitar fits me perfectly, plays like a dream and offers a full sound not unlike the big Guild. This Martin has inspired me to practice more -as it is far more comfortable and manageable. I still love my Guild and hope to one day play it as comfortably as this Martin.
I would love to post photos of my vintages - but I'm uncertain if that's acceptable here.....

I'm an old "deadhead" and jerry garcia is boss! I would like to play folk/bluegrass/fingerpicking style and I aspire to play lead. Lead is most appealing as I'm an experienced lead, solo, trumpet/soprano player alumni of a professional drum & bugle corps. I have already seen how this past experience has accelerated my learning and focus. I feel very fortunate to already have music theory and music reading skills under my belt -- like I have a slight advantage -- and I'm picking up Tableture rapidly. I am confident that I will reach my musical goals with the support of a network of players like those here at guitarnoise.com