Newbie from Norway

15 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@hobbypicker)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Hi! :D
I'm a 42 year old farmer (dairy cows and sheep) from Snåsa in the middle part of Norway. I learned my first chords and a little fingerpicking on our house guitar at about 14, but got no further in playing until about 10 years later when I bought my first guitar, a cheap nylonstring that broke after about a year. When looking for something to replace it I fell completely in love with an Ovation 1619-4 Custom Legend from -75 that's been with me ever since. Some years ago I bought an electric DeArmond M75T, and this spring a Yamaha FG-412-12 (currently waiting for a new bone nut and saddle). In addition the woman I live with has a Yamaha CG-100-A which completes the stack of guitars. I also own an old Fender Sidekick and a Digitech RP 50 multieffect unit, and I've got Kristal Audio Engine and Audacity on my computer for recording.
I'm not a very advanced player, for many years I played a few songs accompanied with cowboy chords and fingerpicking, but the last year I've started to work to get to learn the instrument better. I've got some books to learn rythm guitar, Travis picking and the guitar fretboard. I also use the net to learn new songs, and got here via David Hodges lessons, which I find are very good! :D
My stiff farmer fingers and only average musical talents are my limitations, but I really enjoy playing, and feel that I still can improve, though I really wish I had the resources I have available today when I first picked up the guitar.
I play mostly acoustic fingerstyle stuff and some Dylan, Vreeswijk and Tom Waits songs have been among my favourites.

Posted : 29/12/2006 10:59 am
(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

welcome to the party :lol:

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

Posted : 29/12/2006 11:18 am
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member