Clear all

funny phonecall

15 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter

Months ago we phoned a local working mens club and asked if they would book us for a gig - they said no.
anyway, we pestered and they said "we dont book bands, but we'll take a chance on you if you can play on a bank holiday sunday for cheap".

so we said yes. at this point we were called "Time out"

anyway, last week we got a phone call from this place saying they had to cancel us because
"all of our members have asked us to book another new band in the area who people have seen elsewhere and i cant afford to loose any custom so im going to try and book them instead - sorry"

our drummer took the call, and being the gent he was he said "i understand, but who is this band?"

the guy said "they are called about time - have you heard of them"

Our drummer had - that is us under our new name!!!!!

Now im the first to admit im a rubbish guitarist, but this was a great vote of confidence as a band - we all had a great laugh and cant wait for the gig!!

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

Posted : 10/03/2009 8:23 pm
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Did your drummer also tell him that your "new band" charges 50% more to play since you're so popular? :twisted:

Congrats on your fame & fortune! 8)

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

Posted : 10/03/2009 8:26 pm
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter

Ha ha - 50% more of cheap still = cheap :lol:

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

Posted : 10/03/2009 8:35 pm
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

That is pretty funny but what is a working men's club?

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!