News or the same old same old

193 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
29.4 K Views
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

So how did the gig go cnev?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

Posted : 06/04/2012 11:09 pm
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member
Topic starter

Well let's see after 1001 unsuccessful attempts at trying to get a band together and playing out we finally got our chance this past Thursday night.

We were scheduled to play for an hour and had about 14 songs ready, the only bad part was that we only got to do 11 I think as we ended up running out of time.

It's hard to remember everything that happened although 99% was good. There were a couple small miscues (one by yours truly, I spaced out for a second and lost my place on the fretboard but nothing major). I do have to say I feel less nervous than when I played sports. with sports every game is a new experience at least with the music we've played all these songs many times so it shouldn't be that much pressure and it wasn't. of course there is always a bit more since you don't want to screw up in front of anyone, but ont he whole it was good.

We opened the show with Beer Drinkers and Hellraisers and then we just banged out 11 or so more. We ended up ending with Jailbreak although that wasn't the one we wanted to but it was fine.

Supposedly there were 92 people there but I would have thought closer to 70 but either way it's a small club and that was the most people I've ever seen there so it felt pretty good having that many people there. I had a few friends come down and my oldest daughter showed up too.

Nothing but compliments form everyone and everyone in the bar was either standing or dancing so that was good. I think we had the energy up pretty high.