Age check!

34 Posts
28 Users
0 Likes
(@the-dali)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Ok... perfect time for an age check!!

What was your favorite song as a freshman in high school?

My years are getting muddled in my brain, but my favorite stuff as a frosh was Hot For Teacher and Get Up. I was a Freshman right in the middle of the David/Sammy transition.

-=- Steve

"If the moon were made of ribs, would you eat it?"

(@dogsbody)
Prominent Member

When I started Secondary Modern School.

Yeah I could possibly have passed my "11 plus" and made the grade for Grammar School. But hey! that year they decided to try out a new form of grading exam and not use the "11 plus" that we had all been cramming for in Junior School.

I might have passed and made the grade, but we will never know.

"Help" and "Ticket To Ride" were riding high in the charts together with "Ferry Cross The Mersey" and it had to be The Beatles and Gerry & The Pacemakers and of course it was 1965.

"HELP" just about summed up that first week of terror at "Secondary Modern" Even worse it wasn't co-educational then and all the girls were sent into "ANOTHER BUILDING" at the school. We didn't see them really for another year. When, surprise surprise the school became a "Comprehensive School" (Everyone was supposed to have an equal chance)and we were all mixed together again and we found that the girls had turned into completely different creatures that scared the life out of us pubescent 12 and 13 year olds. Even funnier our teachers didn't know how to handle girls either as the ultimate deterent of "the slipper or cane" could no longer be used for disipline.

All in all it was a change for the better and I did pretty well there. Strangely though, the Grammar School retained its singular status and it had always been co-educational!

Memories eh!!

All the best
Chris

Quick edit::