Clear all

An amazing guitarist.

128 Posts
23 Users
0 Likes
10.1 K Views
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

According to Wikipedia (hehe) Cage's goal was to have the listener hear the sounds in the room itself, that those sounds were the music. If so, then would the music not change with every performance, totally randomly? How can you legally protect a random sound?

I'm not a lawyer and I don't play one on TV. All I know is that Cage's work has been covered and royalties paid to his estate. *shrug*

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

As I've got a background in epistemology, I want to address on little thing before going on: appeal to authority is a valid method of obtaining propositional knowledge. It is a fallacy of logical argument, but we aren't constructing an argument. In propositional matters, particularly those around definitional questions in specific subject areas, authority should be regarded as valid unless there is an argument to the contrary. At least, epistemologically speaking. And that, as Forrest Gump would say, is all I have to say about that :)

Recognizing a true authority often is the larger problem. Many are unable to distinguish a true authority from a poser. People are easily fooled when confronted by that which they do not understand.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member