Good guitar for beginner

32 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@kenneth-v)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello everyone,

now that i've posted in the meeting section, i think it's best i fire away the questions i'm eager to ask!

First of all, i am a complete newbie, and i mean really completely...

I have an acoustic guitar, but it's an old guitar, from the days my father was 16.... So that's probably some 35 years ago...
So basically the first thing i want to know is:

1. Does the age of guitars matter?
2. How can i easily know if this guitar isn't fit to use anymore?

My second question is pretty much the same:

I'm interested in playing an electric guitar, but i don't know which ones are good for beginners(and aren't that expensive)...
I've searched the net a little bit and i've come across these 2 guitars:
*forgive me if the names aren't correct*

- Squier Affinity series telecaster
- and a squier standard stratocaster

I don't know much about them, would you like to give your comment on these guitars?

Thx alot!

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift, that is why we
call it the present!

(@katmetal)
Prominent Member

If the acoustic is in solid condition, plays well, sounds good to you, then I don't see why it wouldn't be just fine to keep on using.
- Squier Affinity series telecaster
- and a squier standard stratocaster
Both of those instruments have reviews posted by other players/purchasers at guitarcenter.com. They are considered entry level electrics. As far as a recommendation for you, that is pretty much an open ended question. There are so many variables; Budget, how long you intend to keep this particular instrument, style of music being played, type of sound you are looking for, just to name a few.

It looks like both of the instruments mentioned get good reviews. Fenders will have a bit of a "twangy" sound, if that is what you are after, that's fine.