Skip to content
Live Music almost a...

Notifications
Clear all

Live Music almost a thing of the Past...

56 Posts
23 Users
0 Likes
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

But DJs aren't musicians. I have been playing guitar for over 30 years and still am not a great musician. I can put on a CD in ten seconds. And so could my 7 year old daughter.

Wes, can you follow the links I put a few posts up and then tell me in all seriousness that your kid could do that? Seriously. I'm not at all convinced we're talking about the same thing here . ..

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

I actually do a lot of DJ work at every gig. Between sets I play CDs. And I am very careful about the music I select. It is hard to describe but you must "feel" the crowd. Sometimes you can tell that it is best to put on some softer music, easy listening pop or acoustic music. Sometimes you need to play loud or heavy music. There is always a mood to a club that you have to be in touch with.

Really, what you are doing between sets is not something you can compare to what real DJs perform after years and years of practice. At all. You probably draw a different audience that comes specifically for your band, the breaks are just that, breaks. When people come specifically to see you DJ they expect more then a permanent break, they expect to be entertained in a unique way non-stop, just like your audience expects from you when you pick up that guitar. And if you haven't been really practicing that you have just as much chance of doing that as DJ Tiesto has a chance of ripping through eruption.

ReplyQuote
(@teleplayer324)
Noble Member

I'm with lefty and nick, there is no way you will ever convince me that someone scratching lp's and playing back someone elses music is a musician.