Clear all

rockshool

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

has anybody followed the rockschool grading syllabus?
If so, what do they make of it?

Also, am i right in thinking there are lots of different grade awarding bodies - and if so is rockschool the "industry standard"?

And finally - is grade 8 the highest?? if so - is that something very few people achieve, it it a very advanced level?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@alangreen)

Rockschool is fairly new on the Grading scene, but it gets a good review from Total Guitar Magazine, and the Musical Director at one of the orchestras I play for teaches it, and he reckons it's dificult.

The other Grading colleges - ABRSM, Trinity and LCM - have all agree dthe difficulty levels of their grade exams, so there should not be any difference between them. I don't know if Rockschool have been part of that discussion.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Thanks Alan - i might just look into them then.
much appreciated.
oh - and its 4 1/2 weeks until half term!!!! i cant wait!

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member