Clear all

The Truth

52 Posts
27 Users
0 Likes
(@metallicaman)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hey Guys. I have something really deep to express here. I am feeling something that I have to get out.

There was a time when I hated jimi Hendrix. I was a "jimi-hater".

I believe that this was because I was a hardcore metal head. Nothing but metal. Metal. Metal. 80's metal. You name it ozzy, metallica, megadeth, bon jovi, whatever I wore it all out so bad its not even funny. Listened to it, jammed to it, learned it, played it and WORE it out. So bad that its almost annoying to me now.

Well, When I was a newb in guitar I was one of the kids who thought the faster a guitarist plays it the better he is. Speed is everything I thought, and its all about the fast high pitch lead. Everything else is baby guitar. Well I have changed alot. Over the 4 years of playing guitar, I have started to realize something. Its not about speed. Its not about how loud or quiet the amp is, and its most definatly not about just metal.

Oh no, Theres something else that I have fallen in love with. And that is blues guitar. I am deeply inlove with it and I fell in FAST. Guitar isnt about speed, or the genre. No, guitar is about tone. Tone my friends. Guitar is all about the sound that one can put out with it. Its the TONE that matters. IMO I would choose slow and excellent tone over fast and basic anyday.

I have lost my hate for jimi big time. I have actually grown to love him. I cant explain what happened to me, but I think I matured in guitar and music.

Don't get me wrong, I still love metal, and I still love fast solos, but I just have to express that I now understand what all you ol' timers are talking about. I now understand. :P

So there may not be much message from my thread here, but all I have to say is something came over me and changed my opinion of blues, and jimi. This will now be my new guitar playing style for a LONG LONG time..