Clear all

Thinking of expanding

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@grungesunset)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I'm tempted t expand my musical horizons and learn the drums. Not for the sake of expansion, mostly because it looks fun. Of course my knowledge of the instrument is limited to "mostly because it looks fun" so I wanted to know a few things before I pursued this. First, I'd have to go with an electric drum kit due to my neighbours and need to know how much a decent one would cost. Second, is it any harder to learn the drums self taught than the guitar? Third, do drums need any additional accessories other than the kit. Last, can I use the drum sticks as weapons to keep the obsessed fans at bay?

Thanks for your help.

"In what, twisted universe does mastering Eddie Van Halen's two handed arpeggio technique count as ABSOLUTELY NOTHING?!" - Dr Gregory House

KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

I'd say something . . . but before I do . . .
I want to know if you're holding any drumsticks now . . . or some sharp (or even blunt) instrument.

Once smacked, twice shy,
KR2

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

I'm sure drum-sticks are a very useful weapon for anyone with proper training, or in your case, motivation (justified or not).

I've also seen a couple people able to hold down a beat their first time behind a set. Not long before my ear and head did it's little number, my wife got behind them and played a few basic beats to some Stones songs. She did try to add some fills in, but that resulted in more of an eye safety issue than anything music related. She's recently decided that she wants to take up the skins, so we got some of those muting pads for 'em so that I can be in the same room. If we had not already had a set, we'd have looked for an electric set like you are. Also, i think you need to buy some sort of speaker, but I'm not sure. Maybe someone else will chime in.