Notifications
Clear all

tube amp question

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@jmacomber16)
Topic starter  

First off I have been visiting this site for awhile now (just joined the forum) and its a very well done site, great lesssons and such. Anyways my current amp situation is as follows, Ive been playing a mim strat for about 1 1/2 years now, this summer I am totally ready for an amp upgrade. I don't really get into effects or anything at all, what I am looking for is that warm blues tube amp tone and some great clean, thats all. (and a smaller price range of $300) This screams fender amp, I was pretty set on getting a blues jr preowned, but my problem is I need an amp that can perform well under "bedroom levels" (not a 15w tube amp haha) but at the same time I need an amp that can give me great sounds at a volume high enough for jams with a bassist and another guitar player (once in a while a light drummer). Right now I am debating between a those crate v or palomino 15watters or the fender super champ xds. The best part of the crates is that its all tube 100% nothing fake bout it, but at the same time I see that there is a single channel on the super champ that is pretty much a 15w tube amp (at least thats how it seems) this would allow me to have that fender clean tube sound (if its real tube haha). The only downside to the superchamp is if the 2nd channel's modeling aspect is too loud. Im pretty sure the 2nd channel works off solid state, which would transform the amp into a great bedroom amp??? Anyone who owns this could help me out, if that first channel is a 15w single volume tube amp then im golden, i could have an amp that performs the way i need to :D hopefully im right, i kinda think its a bit of a gimick to sell these amps as tube amps :cry:

(@dhutson)
Estimable Member

I wanted exactly the same thing. My solution:

Pre-owned Blues Junior - $299
25 Watt Weber Mini-Mass - $75
Great Fender Tone at any volume - Priceless

/Dwayne