Skip to content
Who do you play for...

Notifications
Clear all

Who do you play for or with? Why do you play?

43 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@tim_madsen)
Prominent Member

I play for anyone that will listen. I play with anyone that will play with me. I suggest you get together with people that play better than you, not at the same level, or do both. I never pass up a chance to play with someone better than me. It's a great way to improve your own playing.
I started playing only to accompany my voice and that's pretty much still the case. I like playing but I love to sing.

Tim Madsen
Nobody cares how much you know,
until they know how much you care.

"What you keep to yourself you lose, what you give away you keep forever." -Axel Munthe

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

I never pass up a chance to play with someone better than me. It's a great way to improve your own playing.

+1. Even when it involves travelling to a different continent...

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

I play music to make a living.

A wise person once said, if you make a living by doing something that you would do for free, you will never work a day in your life. And other than a few 'day jobs' I took to find out what that was all about, I've never worked a day in my life.

I'm currently playing with my wife in a duo http://www.s-cats.com - I met here when she was in another band, and we hit it off quite well. Eventually we joined a 5 piece band together, and then when personnel problems got too difficult, I learned how to sequence backing tracks and we started our duo. We've done everything from nursing homes to five star hotels to cruise ships to spots on MTV, CBS, ABC, and NBC.

Insights and incites by Notes

Bob "Notes" Norton

Owner, Norton Music http://www.nortonmusic.com Add-on Styles for Band-in-a-Box and Microsoft SongSmith

The Sophisticats http://www.s-cats.com >^. .^< >^. .^<

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)