Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Book/DVD/CD/ for Beginner

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@junkeroos)
Topic starter  

I'd like to know what the forum thinks (besides the reviewers from Amazon) of the following instructional materials for a total beginner playing acoustic guitar. Perhaps compare it with the "Guitar for Dummies" book/dvd which many think so little of. However, I have a preference for a complete multimedia package that combines book and DVD (or VCD/Enhanced CD) materials. Also I prefer something that would teach you songs that are more familiar like Beatles songs for example or something more contemporary but it's not a deal breaker.

The First Stage Guitar Book: Learn How To Play Guitar Easily & Quickly!

Ultimate Beginner Acoustic Guitar

Absolute Beginners Guitar Course

1st Steps for a Beginning Guitarist Volume One: Chords and Chord Progressions for the Guitar

How to Play Guitar: Everything You Need to Know to Play the Guitar

Hal Leonard Guitar Method, - Complete Edition : Books 1, 2 and 3

The Complete Acoustic Guitar Method : Learn to Play Using the Techniques and Songs of American Roots Music

One more thing, are there other professional reviewers online that compare and evaluate these instructional materials? Can someone provide a link?

I recently encountered an infomercial about learning to play the piano. It was "Play Piano in a Flash!" and although I thought it was very good, I find the instructor, Scott Houston, terribly annoying (his jokes are forced and rehearsed and he comes out fake for some reason). He has that certain je ne sais quoi that makes me irritated about him. That's just me but I would not like to see an instructor like him on the instructional DVDs on these guitar lessons.

:cool: Stock Market Simulator contest!
http://www.einvesting.com
Play The Market, Talk Investing, Learn Trading, Win $50!

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member