Skip to content
Hi, I'm new to play...

Notifications
Clear all

Hi, I'm new to playing the guitar, is this book...

15 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@badblood909)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Any good?

Complete Guitarist
by Richard Chapman, Les Paul (He only writes the foreword)

(@alangreen)

Hiya,

I figure that if a book - any book - teaches you how to do something you couldn't do before then it has some value.

I've also been reading one of Jamey Andreas's newsletters today (The alchemy Of Art) which is highly critical of exactly how most books get you playing.

All of this contradictory advice leaves the question unanswered - so I would say that your book has value, but don't use it as the sole source of your playing instruction. Do get yourself some lessons from a real live teacher. Do read the lessons on this site. In short - get as many opinions as you can from as many books/ videos/ other players as you can.

Best,

Alan :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@badblood909)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Allrighty, thanks.

Well, I know I should use more than one source, but that book would probably be the foundation, since I can't afford a guitar instructor.

Well, I could, but I have more important stuff, I just want to play guitar as self leisure, nothing more.

ReplyQuote
(@dfarmer)

I own a different book which is basically the same concept (Think pepsi -vs- coke) call the Guitar Handbook by Ralph Denyer (forward by Andy Summers of the Police).

Both of these books are pretty cool in that they cover all aspects of the instrument. I know how to string a guitar because of this book, I can do all kinds of little maintenence jobs. It's also got lists of scales and a section on reading music etc.