Open B Tuning

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
25.2 K Views
(@moriondor)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I have been using the Open B tuning for just over 6 months now (B F# B F# B D). I used to use a drop D then decided to try going lower to get a more bass heavy sludge sound. Now that I am used to using this tuning I can't seem to stop! it sounds great with a powerful overdriven sound but also quite unusual when played clean with some delay, has quite a spooky sound. You have to spend some time playing with the EQ on the amp to get a tighter sound so the big open chords don't turn in to a muddy mess.

Does anybody else use an unusual low tuning? and what musical style do you use it for?

a cauliflower is just a cabbage with a college education

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

What string gauges are you using for that?

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@moriondor)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I use a pretty heavy gauge set. Usually the Ernie Ball "Not Even Slinkys". They are 12, 16, 24P, 32, 44, 56. These strings are suited to low tunings but also take a lot of battering as you can imagine they do :)

a cauliflower is just a cabbage with a college education

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

I just realized that's just Open C tuned down a half step. Except the D on the first string, which is down a whole step, so that's a B minor tuning.

I like to use the minor variants of Open D/E and Open G.

Normal Open C is (from low to high) CGCGCE. Puts a very low bass string in, tuned down a major third from the E in standard, the fourth and fifth strings are down a whole step, and the second string is up a half step. I used to shy away from it when I had super heavy strings on my reso, because I was afraid of breaking the first string tuned up to E and the second string on C. Would've worked great in your tuning, though.

I'll have to mess with Open C now that I'm using more "normal" string gauges. The bass strings will be a bit floppy.

ReplyQuote