Clear all

slide(ing) bar chords

14 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@nolongerme)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

can you use a slide to do bar chords? it seems like it would be easier than using your finger. but i've never used a slide before

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

If you mean in an open tuning, sure! That's the basis of slide playing. The I chord is open strings or barred at the 12th fret, the IV chord is on the 5th fret, the V is on the 7th fret, and the 3rd fret is especially useful as a transition between the 5th fret and open strings. You can play a lot of blues with nothing but that, and it'll just take you a few minutes to learn the basics!

In standard tuning, using the slide for barre chords would mean putting the slide on your index finger, which isn't commonly done. You can't damp the strings behind the slide, or fret strings behind the slide for modified barre chords in open tunings.

Most folks wear their slide either on the pinky or ring finger. Opinions are strong and arguments rage over which is best. I'm a longtime ring finger slider, but pinky sliding has its advantages and I go back and forth between both. There are certain things I can do with one but not the other, and I'll change fingers depending on the tune.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@nolongerme)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

say i wanted to do a barre F chord could i put a slide on my index finger and use the others to do the appropriate fingerings? it seems like it would get a better sound and less finger problems

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member