Clear all

So Now What? Slide Newbie

11 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@indiana_jonesin)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

So I picked up a brass slide at the GASworks the other day...now what? Who can direct me to some beginner's resources for acoustic slide guitar? I'm more interested in the old blues sound, but I won't kick anything out the door at this point. I've only been playing for a few months, so I'm a beginner in general on the guitar, and really don't have the budget for private lessons, so I'm counting on y'all for guidance and I just know you'll come through! TIA
-Indy

"Yes and an old guitar is all that he can afford,
when he gets up under the lights to play his thing..."-Dire Straits
http://www.myspace.com/misterpete42

(@witchdoctor)
Estimable Member

I am sure you will get lots of varying responses to your question, so keep in mind that what I say is an opinion. Start by tuning your guitar to an open chord, like E or D. If you picture the fretboard like a guitar fretboard in standard tuning, it will really confuse you; Place the slide along all 6 strings and you will be playing the open chord in whatever position you are in. Wit hthe slide you will find the your single note lines will be slightly hard to get used to on the 3rd, 4th and 5th strings but the others are about what you are accustomed to and your lines on the B and E strings are easy to use as a baseline to start your line. To this day I tend to start a solo section on the high notes due to this!
Realizing that you have to play one fret forward on the third string and 2 frets forward on the 4th and 5th is easy to say and comprehend but takes time in practice. You will find that 2 note harmonies and slants- where you slant the slide at an angle across the strings to get different intervals. That takes time and practice to get the intonation right but can be very rewarding. I hadn't seen a slide player doing slants until I saw Derek Trucks not too long ago use slants on a tricky jazz passage.