SSG Week 45 First Song - Perfectionist Beginner Blues w/ MP3

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@chris-c)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

This is a wonderfully timely assignment from Bob.

I've been meaning to post here for months, but I never get a song finished in the week. And I don't want to post half done stuff that isn't really a song, so I always chicken out. I have been hanging around GN on and off for a couple of years now, and I've alway had a special admiration for those who have the nerve to record and post their songs. I left it ridiculously late to start trying to learn guitar - at age 58 - so I have all the excuses ready about failing capabilities, but after two or three years (now 60) I should be able to play something! I've certainly spent enough time on the forums mouthing off about what beginnerss like me should do.... so it's finally time to put up or shut up. :oops:

I have tried to write songs before (including posting a couple of half done efforts here about a year ago) but this is my first attempt at writing, playing and recording a whole song. It's very rough, and it's absolutely a 'one shot, no edit' attempt with lots of mistakes and nothing patched up. But that's the beauty of this assignment - it gives me the perfect excuse for it being like that. :D

Last week I wrote two songs. The first one was aiming to be a deep and meaningful soulful ballad type of thing, with lots of fancy minor key finger stuff. I had some reasonably words and some good minor chords going nicely for a while, but the whole thing got far too clever for its own good and eventually disappeared up its own fundamental orifice and got scrapped.