Clear all

bass boring when alone? umm

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
13.5 K Views
(@j_rad)
Topic starter  

ive gotten input from some guitarists and now i have the same question for you bass players. i have been told by a few people that playing bass can get boring and is often only enjoyable when you can play with a band. so.. lets say i wanted to pick up bass but i didnt have plans of being in a band- is there enough diversity in this instrument that it is still fun to play alone (or with cd's as ive heard). and i kno people are saying "you just have to try it for yourself" but i am only fifteen and this is a huge investment for someone who gets paid six bucks an hour. (ouch) and i have no experience, i just really am interested in picking up the skills of playing bass or electric guitar. so.. id like to know what you think. i have also heard that bass is a lot easier to learn than guitar because it is only four strings.. altho i do know that it is a totally different instrument anyways.

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

It's not true at all that bass is boring alone.  If you play the things that you would play with a band, I can see how it would get a little boring, but if you play songs written for bass, that keeps it fun.  I play alone most of the time, since my band isn't up to  much, and I love it.  The bass has a very wide tonal palette.  I recommend it fully.  I don't think the bass is much easier to learn than the guitar, because is requires more finger strength and stretching, kind of balances things out.

ReplyQuote
(@mhxanhma)
Eminent Member

I totally agree with Paul.

I have answered this post in the guitar players forum (I think it was there, or in the Beginners forum).

No instrument is superior than any other instrument. They all contribute equally to the feeling of the music.
It all boils down to taste...

Johann Sebastian Bass

ReplyQuote
(@deroy)